Google has long let Android users set up locked folders in the Photos app, giving them the ability to protect sensitive images and screenshots from prying eyes. Now, the tech giant has started rolling out an update to its app that will allow users to back up their locked folders so they can access the files stored in them from any device. In addition, users now have access And set up locked folders (a feature that started out as a Pixel exclusive) from the Photos app on iOS and the web. That means users don’t even need an Android device to enjoy the feature.
As a refresher, users can set up a locked folder by going to the Tools section of the Photos app. They’ll then see “cards” for potentially more than one feature, where they can instantly create a locked folder for any image they want to keep safe. After they are done, they can choose whether to backup the folder or not. They can also easily add more images from their gallery by long-pressing on them and then checking the boxes that appear in the top left corner. Any images sent to locked folders will still not be accessible anywhere else, and users will still only be able to access them after confirming their identity using their device’s password or biometric authentication.
Google has also started rolling out a simplified settings page for the Photos app. When users click their account icon and view the settings page, they will now see a new layout that makes it easier to find what they’re looking for by navigating the new privacy, backup, sharing, and notification sections.